Hours and Holidays

Administrative Closures

Note: Due to the administrative closures of the Immigrant Visa Unit and the Nonimmigrant Visa Unit on January 23, 2020 from 8:30 a.m. – 5:30 p.m. No visa services will be provided for applicants.

Please be advised that the American Citizen Services will be closed on January 23, 2020 from 8:30 a.m. – 5:30 p.m. No services will be provided.

If an American citizen is in an emergency, please call 2523-9011 or visit Emergency Contact Information for U.S. Citizens.

Rainy and Typhoon Season

The annual rainy and typhoon season lasts throughout the autumn months. Please be advised that if Black Rainstorm Warning OR Typhoon Signal 8 or above is announced by the Hong Kong Observatory, the Consulate General will be closed. Please see “Consular Services During the Rainy and Typhoon Season” for details.

General Office Hours for the Consulate General
Monday – Friday 8:30 – 12:30 and 1:30 – 5:30

Hours For American Citizen Services
Monday – Friday 8:30 – Noon and 1:30 to 4:00,
Except Wednesdays (8:30 to Noon only)

Hours For Visa Services

The following list includes all official holidays (both U.S. and Hong Kong) for 2020.

  • Wednesday, January 1, 2020
    New Year’s Day (A/L)
  • Monday, January 20, 2020
    Martin Luther King’s Birthday (A)
  • Monday, January 27, 2020
    Third day of the Lunar New Year (L)
  • Tuesday, January 28, 2020
    Fourth day of the Lunar New Year (L)
  • Monday, February 17, 2020
    President’s Day (A)
  • Friday, April 10, 2020
    Good Friday (L)
  • Monday, April 13, 2020
    Easter Monday (L)
  • Thursday, April 30, 2020
    Birthday of the Buddha (L)
  • Friday, May 1, 2020
    Labor Day (L)
  • Monday, May 25, 2020
    Memorial Day (A)
  • Thursday, June 25, 2020
    Tuen Ng Festival (L)
  • Wednesday, July 1, 2020
    Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day (L)
  • Friday, July 3, 2020
    Independence Day (A)
  • Monday, September 7, 2020
    Labor Day (A)
  • Thursday, October 1, 2020
    National Day (L)
  • Friday, October 2, 2020
    The day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival (L)
  • Monday, October 12, 2020
    Columbus Day (A)
  • Monday, October 26, 2020
    The day following Chung Yeung Festival (L)
  • Wednesday, November 11, 2020
    Veterans Day (A)
  • Thursday, November 26, 2020
    Thanksgiving Day (A)
  • Friday, December 25, 2020
    Christmas Day (A/L)

A – American Holiday
L – Local Holiday

Note: Four local holidays falling on Saturday are not included in the 2020 holiday schedule (Lunar New Year’s Day, January 24, Ching Ming Festival, April 4, The day following Good Friday, April 11, and the day following Christmas Day, December 26).