Hours and Holidays

The U.S. Consulate General Hong Kong and Macau is pleased to resume limited immigrant and nonimmigrant visa services, including student visas. While the Consulate aims to process cases as soon as practicable, there is likely to be increased wait times for completing such services due to substantial backlogs. Eligible immigrant visa applicants will be contacted to schedule an appointment. To schedule a nonimmigrant visa appointment, please visit Apply for a U.S. Visa in Hong Kong and Macau. The MRV fee is valid and may be used to schedule an interview appointment in the country where it was purchased within one year of the date of payment. If you have an urgent matter and need to travel immediately, please email support-hongkong@ustraveldocs.com or call +852 5808-4666.

Rainy and Typhoon Season

Hong Kong’s rainy season is from late summer to autumn. If the Hong Kong Observatory announces a Black Rainstorm Warning or a Typhoon Signal 8, the Consulate General will close. Please see “Consular Services During the Rainy and Typhoon Season” for details.

General Office Hours for the Consulate General
Monday – Friday 8:30 – 12:30 and 1:30 – 5:30

Hours For American Citizen Services
Monday – Friday 8:30 – Noon and 1:30 to 4:00,
Except Wednesdays (8:30 to Noon only)

Hours For Visa Services

The following list includes all official holidays (both U.S. and Hong Kong) for 2020.

  • Wednesday, January 1, 2020
    New Year’s Day (A/L)
  • Monday, January 20, 2020
    Martin Luther King’s Birthday (A)
  • Monday, January 27, 2020
    Third day of the Lunar New Year (L)
  • Tuesday, January 28, 2020
    Fourth day of the Lunar New Year (L)
  • Monday, February 17, 2020
    President’s Day (A)
  • Friday, April 10, 2020
    Good Friday (L)
  • Monday, April 13, 2020
    Easter Monday (L)
  • Thursday, April 30, 2020
    Birthday of the Buddha (L)
  • Friday, May 1, 2020
    Labor Day (L)
  • Monday, May 25, 2020
    Memorial Day (A)
  • Thursday, June 25, 2020
    Tuen Ng Festival (L)
  • Wednesday, July 1, 2020
    Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day (L)
  • Friday, July 3, 2020
    Independence Day (A)
  • Monday, September 7, 2020
    Labor Day (A)
  • Thursday, October 1, 2020
    National Day (L)
  • Friday, October 2, 2020
    The day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival (L)
  • Monday, October 12, 2020
    Columbus Day (A)
  • Monday, October 26, 2020
    The day following Chung Yeung Festival (L)
  • Wednesday, November 11, 2020
    Veterans Day (A)
  • Thursday, November 26, 2020
    Thanksgiving Day (A)
  • Friday, December 25, 2020
    Christmas Day (A/L)

A – American Holiday
L – Local Holiday

Note: Four local holidays falling on Saturday are not included in the 2020 holiday schedule (Lunar New Year’s Day, January 24, Ching Ming Festival, April 4, The day following Good Friday, April 11, and the day following Christmas Day, December 26).

The following list includes all official holidays (both U.S. and Hong Kong) for 2021.

  • Friday, January 1, 2021
    New Year’s Day (A/L)
  • Monday January 18, 2021
    Martin Luther King’s Birthday (A)
  • Friday, February 12, 2021
    Lunar New Year’s Day (L)
  • Monday, February 15, 2021
    President’s Day/ Fourth day of Lunar New Year (A/L)
  • Friday, April 2, 2021
    Good Friday (L)
  • Monday, April 5, 2021
    The day following Ching Ming Festival (L)
  • Tuesday, April 6, 2021
    The day following Easter Monday (observed Monday, April 5, 2021) (L)
  • Wednesday, May 19, 2021
    The Buddha’s Birthday (L)
  • Monday, May 31, 2021
    Memorial Day (A)
  • Monday, June 14, 2021
    Tuen Ng Festival (L)
  • Thursday, July 1, 2021
    Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day (L)
  • Monday, July 5, 2021
    Independence Day (observed Sunday, July 4, 2021) (A)
  • Monday, September 6, 2021
    Labor Day (A)
  • Wednesday, September 22, 2021
    The day following Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival (L)
  • Friday, October 1, 2021
    National Day (L)
  • Monday, October 11, 2021
    Columbus Day (A)
  • Thursday, October 14, 2021
    Chung Yeung Festival (L)
  • Thursday, November 11, 2021
    Veterans Day (A)
  • Thursday, November 25, 2021
    Thanksgiving Day (A)
  • Friday, December 24, 2021
    Christmas Day (observed Saturday, December 25th, 2021) (A/L)
  • Monday, December 27, 2021
    The First Weekday after Christmas Day (L)

A – American Holiday
L – Local Holiday

Notes: Four local holidays falling on Saturday are not included in the 2021 holiday schedule: Second day of the Lunar New Year, February 13, The day following Good Friday, April 3, Labor Day, May 1, Christmas Day, December 25.