Hours and Holidays

The U.S. Consulate General Hong Kong and Macau is pleased to resume limited immigrant and nonimmigrant visa services, including student visas. While the Consulate aims to process cases as soon as practicable, there is likely to be increased wait times for completing such services due to substantial backlogs. Eligible immigrant visa applicants will be contacted to schedule an appointment. To schedule a nonimmigrant visa appointment, please visit Apply for a U.S. Visa in Hong Kong and Macau. The MRV fee is valid and may be used to schedule an interview appointment in the country where it was purchased within one year of the date of payment. If you have an urgent matter and need to travel immediately, please email support-hongkong@ustraveldocs.com or call +852 5808-4666.

Rainy and Typhoon Season

Hong Kong’s rainy season is from late summer to autumn. If the Hong Kong Observatory announces a Black Rainstorm Warning or a Typhoon Signal 8, the Consulate General will close. Please see “Consular Services During the Rainy and Typhoon Season” for details.

General Office Hours for the Consulate General
Monday – Friday 8:30 – 12:30 and 1:30 – 5:30

Hours For American Citizen Services
Services (by appointment) Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 8:30-12:00
Document pick-up Monday-Friday 2-3pm
Emergency notifications (by phone) Monday-Friday 8:30am-5:30pm

Hours For Visa Services

The following list includes all official holidays (both U.S. and Hong Kong) for 2022.

  • Monday, January 17, 2022
    Martin Luther King’s Birthday (A)
  • Tuesday, February 1, 2022
    Lunar New Year’s Day (L)
  • Wednesday, February 2, 2022
    Second day of Lunar New Year (L)
  • Thursday, February 3, 2022
    Third day of Lunar New Year (L)
  • Monday, February 21, 2022
    President’s Day (A)
  • Tuesday, April 5, 2022
    Ching Ming Festival (L)
  • Friday, April 15, 2022
    Good Friday (L)
  • Monday, April 18, 2022
    Easter Monday (L)
  • Monday, May 30, 2022
    Memorial Day (A)
  • Friday, June 3, 2022
    Tuen Ng Festival (L)
  • Monday, June 20, 2022
    Juneteenth (observed Sunday, June 19) (A)
  • Friday, July 1, 2022
    Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day (L)
  • Monday, July 4, 2022
    Independence Day (A)
  • Monday, September 5, 2022
    Labor Day (A)
  • Monday, September 12, 2022
    The second day following Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival (L)
  • Tuesday, October 4, 2022
    Chung Yeung Festival (L)
  • Monday, October 10, 2022
    Columbus Day (A)
  • Friday, November 11, 2022
    Veterans Day (A)
  • Thursday, November 24, 2022
    Thanksgiving Day (A)
  • Monday, December 26, 2022
    Christmas Day (observed Sunday, December 25) (A/L)
  • Tuesday, December 27, 2022
    The second weekday after Christmas Day (L)

A – American Holiday
L – Local Holiday

Notes: Two local holidays falling on Saturday are not included in the 2022 holiday schedule: The day following Good Friday, April 16, National Day, October 1.