Hours and Holidays

Rainy and Typhoon Season

The annual rainy and typhoon season lasts throughout the autumn months. Please be advised that if Black Rainstorm Warning OR Typhoon Signal 8 or above is announced by the Hong Kong Observatory, the Consulate General will be closed. Please see “Consular Services During the Rainy and Typhoon Season” for details.

General Office Hours for the Consulate General
Monday – Friday 8:30 – 12:30 and 1:30 – 5:30

Hours For American Citizen Services
Monday – Friday 8:30 – Noon and 1:30 to 4:00,
Except Wednesdays (8:30 to Noon only)

Hours For Visa Services

The following list includes all official holidays (both U.S. and Hong Kong) for 2017.

  • Monday, January 2, 2017 (observed Sunday, January 1, 2017)
    The day following New Year’s Day (A/L)
  • Monday, January 16, 2017
    Martin Luther King’s Birthday (A)
  • Monday, January 30, 2017
    Third day of the Lunar New Year (L)
  • Tuesday, January 31, 2017
    Fourth day of the Lunar New Year (L)
  • Monday, February 20, 2017
    President’s Day (A)
  • Tuesday, April 4, 2017
    Ching Ming Festival (L)
  • Friday, April 14, 2017
    Good Friday (L)
  • Monday, April 17, 2017
    Easter Monday (L)
  • Monday, May 1, 2017
    Labour Day (L)
  • Wednesday, May 3, 2017
    The Buddha’s Birthday (L)
  • Monday, May 29, 2017
    Memorial Day (A)
  • Tuesday, May 30, 2017
    Tuen Ng Festival (L)
  • Tuesday, July 4, 2017
    Independence Day (A)
  • Monday, September 4, 2017
    Labor Day (A)
  • Monday, October 2, 2017 (observed Sunday, October 1, 2017)
    The day following National Day (L)
  • Thursday, October 5, 2017
    The day following Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival (L)
  • Monday, October 9, 2017
    Columbus Day (A)
  • Friday, November 10, 2017 (observed Saturday, November 11, 2017)
    Veterans Day (A)
  • Thursday, November 23, 2017
    Thanksgiving Day (A)
  • Monday, December 25, 2017
    Christmas Day (A/L)
  • Tuesday, December 26, 2017
    First Week-Day after Christmas Day (L)

A – American Holiday/L – Local Holiday

Note: Four local holidays falling on Saturday are not included in the 2017 holiday schedule (Lunar New Year’s Day, January 28, 2017, The day following Good Friday, April 15, 2017, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day, July 1 and Chung Yeung Festival, October 28, 2017).

The following list includes all official holidays (both U.S. and Hong Kong) for 2018.

  • Monday, January 1, 2018
    New Year’s Day (A/L)
  • Monday, January 15, 2018
    Martin Luther King’s Birthday (A)
  • Friday, February 16, 2018
    First day of the Lunar New Year (L)
  • Monday, February 19, 2018
    President’s Day/Fourth day of the Lunar New Year (A/L)
  • Friday, March 30, 2018
    Good Friday (L)
  • Monday, April 2, 2018
    Easter Monday (L)
  • Thursday, April 5, 2018
    Ching Ming Festival (L)
  • Tuesday, May 1, 2018
    Labour Day (L)
  • Monday, May 28, 2018
    Memorial Day (A)
  • Monday, June 18, 2018
    Tuen Ng Festival (L)
  • Monday, July 2, 2018 (observed Sunday, July 1, 2018)
    The day following Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day (L)
  • Wednesday, July 4, 2018
    Independence Day (A)
  • Monday, September 3, 2018
    Labor Day (A)
  • Tuesday, September 25, 2018
    The day following Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival (L)
  • Monday, October 1 , 2018
    National Day (L)
  • Monday, October 8, 2018
    Columbus Day (A)
  • Wednesday, October 17, 2018
    Chung Yeung Festival (L)
  • Monday, November 12, 2018 (observed Sunday, November 11, 2018)
    Veterans Day (A)
  • Thursday, November 22, 2018
    Thanksgiving Day (A)
  • Tuesday, December 25, 2018
    Christmas Day (A/L)
  • Wednesday, December 26, 2018
    First Week-Day after Christmas Day (L)

A – American Holiday/L – Local Holiday

Notes: Two local holidays falling on Saturday are not included in the 2018 holiday schedule (The second day of Lunar New Year, February 17, 2018 and The day following Good Friday, March 31, 2018). One local holiday was eliminated (The Buddha’s Birthday, May 22, 2018).