Hours and Holidays

Note: Due to the administrative closures of the Immigrant Visa Unit and the Nonimmigrant Visa Unit on March 28, 2019 from 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., no visa services will be provided for applicants.

Rainy and Typhoon Season

The annual rainy and typhoon season lasts throughout the autumn months. Please be advised that if Black Rainstorm Warning OR Typhoon Signal 8 or above is announced by the Hong Kong Observatory, the Consulate General will be closed. Please see “Consular Services During the Rainy and Typhoon Season” for details.

General Office Hours for the Consulate General
Monday – Friday 8:30 – 12:30 and 1:30 – 5:30

Hours For American Citizen Services
Monday – Friday 8:30 – Noon and 1:30 to 4:00,
Except Wednesdays (8:30 to Noon only)

Hours For Visa Services

The following list includes all official holidays (both U.S. and Hong Kong) for 2019.

  • Tuesday, January 1, 2019
    New Year’s Day (A/L)
  • Monday, January 21, 2019
    Martin Luther King’s Birthday (A)
  • Tuesday, February 5, 2019
    First day of the Lunar New Year (L)
  • Wednesday, February 6, 2019
    Second day of the Lunar New Year (L)
  • Thursday, February 7, 2019
    Third day of the Lunar New Year (L)
  • Monday, February 18, 2019
    President’s Day (A)
  • Friday, April 5, 2019
    Ching Ming Festival (L)
  • Friday, April 19, 2019
    Good Friday (L)
  • Monday, April 22, 2019
    Easter Monday (L)
  • Monday, May 27, 2019
    Memorial Day (A)
  • Friday, June 7, 2019
    Tuen Ng Festival (L)
  • Monday, July 1, 2019
    Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day (L)
  • Thursday, July 4, 2019
    Independence Day (A)
  • Monday, September 2, 2019
    Labor Day (A)
  • Tuesday, October 1, 2019
    National Day (L)
  • Monday, October 7, 2019
    Chung Yeung Festival (L)
  • Monday, October 14, 2019
    Columbus Day (A)
  • Monday, November 11, 2019
    Veterans Day (A)
  • Thursday, November 28, 2019
    Thanksgiving Day (A)
  • Wednesday, December 25, 2019
    Christmas Day (A/L)
  • Thursday, December 26, 2019
    First Week-Day after Christmas Day (L)

A – American Holiday
L – Local Holiday

Notes: Two local holidays falling on Saturday are not included in the 2019 holiday schedule (The day following Good Friday, April 20, 2019, and the day following Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival, September 14, 2019). Two local holidays are also not included (Labor Day, May 1, and the day following the Birthday of Buddha, May 13).